Value is created
through the targeted
emotionalisation of the brand.

Sören Scholz, Geschäftsführer Produkte & Methoden

Emotional Branding Monitor

Understand the subconscious, use emotions, successfully manage brands

A customer can scarcely be convinced with the promise of a product or service - only the brand manages to give the product a special value and to differentiate it from others. This added value is created through the targeted emotionalisation of the brand. Buying decisions are therefore usually not cognitively processed with crucial conscious information, but rather with unconscious associations that are transported via the brand communication and are associated with the brand and the product. Therefore, successful brand management is entirely applied to human emotions to occupy a specific, positive emotional position. Emotional Branding accurately describes this ability: to deeply link a brand with emotional motives and desires of consumers in their subconscious. 

With the Emotional Branding Monitor (EBM), Interrogare has developed an innovative method that captures the unconscious emotional impact of brands, based on recognised results of medical, neurobiological research: Even more complex emotions can be explained from the interaction of seven independent basal emotion systems - dominance, search, play/joy, pleasure/lust, balance, care and scepticism/anxiety (Fig. 1). These seven emotional systems form the basis of our human thought and action. Brand knowledge is created unconsciously by emotional activation: Without cognitive intention, the brand is stored as a neural network of related associations, experiences and impressions in memory, having lasting influence on brand perception. The Emotional Branding Monitor determines the emotional activation of your brand, delivers access to the motivational needs of your target audience via the emotional systems and thus concrete insights for your brand management.

The measurement of emotion is based on the measurement of reaction time that has been studied in sociological research on prejudice. Instead of specifying mere conscious brand perception via scale-based questions, the respondent decides within fractions of a second whether images or concepts that reflect the basal emotions match the brand or not (Fig. 2). The time required for this (in milliseconds) is a very precise indicator of whether the proffered stimulus is associated with the brand or not. Short response times show a high emotional appeal of the brand, while long response times suggest that there are no unconscious associations between the brand and the emotional concept. A brand can thus be accurately located in the space of emotional systems and the emotionalisation in each individual system determined exactly. The exact emotional profile of the brand is clearly shown in the result (Fig. 3) and thus forms the basis for targeted, successful brand management.

Fig. 1: Seven basal emotional systems
Fig. 2: Representation of reaction time measurement
Fig. 3: A brand's emotional profile

AREAS OF APPLICATION FOR THIS PROCEDURE

  • Detection of implicit emotional impact of brands on the basis of neuroscientific findings
  • Investigation of image, brand and product positioning
  • Measuring emotional impact of advertising and brand communications
  • Input for campaign creations Campaign controlling and effect of various advertising media

ADVANTAGES OF THIS PROCEDURE

  • Localisation of the individual brand and the competitive environment in the basal emotional and motivational systems (based on human thought and action) 
  • Access to the implicit emotional perceptions of consumers
  • Innovative measurement based on a combination of image concepts and validated picture albums for mapping the emotion systems
  • The approach addresses many shortcomings of classical scale-based market research and thus offers real value

Information material

Mehrwert entsteht
durch die gezielte Emotionalisierung
der Marke.

Sören Scholz, Geschäftsführer Produkte & Methoden

Emotional Branding Monitor

Unterbewusstes verstehen, Emotionen nutzen, Marken erfolgreich führen

Mit reinen Produkt- und Leistungsversprechen überzeugt man kaum einen Kunden – erst die Marke schafft es, dem Produkt einen besonderen Wert zu geben und es von anderen zu differenzieren. Dieser Mehrwert entsteht durch die gezielte Emotionalisierung der Marke. Bei Kaufentscheidungen sind daher i.d.R. nicht kognitiv verarbeitete, bewusste Informationen ausschlaggebend, sondern vielmehr die unbewussten Assoziationen, die über die Markenkommunikation transportiert und mit der Marke und dem Produkt verbunden werden. Erfolgreiche Markenführung setzt daher unmittelbar an den menschlichen Emotionen an, um eine konkrete, positiv emotionale Position zu besetzen. Emotional Branding beschreibt genau diese Fähigkeit: eine Marke mit den emotionalen Motiven und Sehnsüchten der Konsumenten zu verknüpfen, tief in deren Unterbewusstsein.

Mit dem Emotional Branding Monitor (EBM) hat Interrogare ein innovatives Verfahren entwickelt, das die unbewusste emotionale Wirkung von Marken erfasst und auf anerkannten Ergebnissen der medizinischen, neurobiologischen Forschung basiert: Selbst komplexere Emotionen lassen sich aus dem Zusammenspiel von sieben voneinander unabhängigen basalen Emotionssystemen – Dominanz, Suche, Spiel/Freude, Lust/Erotik, Balance, Fürsorge und Skepsis/Sorge (Abb. 1) – erklären. Diese sieben Emotionssysteme bilden die Grundlage für unser menschliches Denken und Handeln. Markenwissen entsteht unbewusst durch emotionale Aktivierung: Ohne kognitive Absicht wird die Marke als neuronales Netzwerk aus verbundenen Assoziationen, Erfahrungen und Eindrücken im Gedächtnis abgelegt und beeinflusst nachhaltig die Markenwahrnehmung. Der Emotional Branding Monitor ermittelt die emotionale Aktivierung Ihrer Marke, liefert über die Emotionssysteme Zugang zu den motivationalen Bedürfnissen Ihrer Zielgruppe und damit konkrete Insights für Ihre Markenführung.

Die Emotionsmessung basiert auf der in der soziologischen Vorurteilsforschung bekannt gewordenen Reaktionszeitmessung. Anstatt über skalenbasierte Fragen die rein bewusste Markenwahrnehmung anzugeben, entscheidet der Befragte innerhalb von Sekundenbruchteilen, ob Bilder oder Begriffe, welche die basalen Emotionen wiederspiegeln, zur Marke passen oder nicht (Abb. 2). Die dafür benötigte Zeit (in Millisekunden) ist ein sehr präziser Indikator dafür, ob der dargebotene Stimulus mit der Marke assoziiert wird oder nicht. Kurze Antwortzeiten zeigen eine hohe Emotionalisierung der Marke, während lange Antwortzeiten darauf schließen lassen, dass keine unbewussten Assoziationen zwischen Marke und dem emotionalen Begriff bestehen. Somit lässt sich eine Marke im Raum der Emotionssysteme genau verorten und die Emotionalisierung in jedem einzelnen System exakt ermitteln. Im Ergebnis wird das genaue emotionales Profil der Marke anschaulich dargestellt (Abb. 3) und bildet damit die Grundlage für ein gezieltes, erfolgreiches Markenmanagement.

Abb. 1: Die sieben basalen Emotionssysteme
Abb. 2: Darstellung der Reaktionszeitmessung
Abb. 3: Emotionales Profil einer Marke

Anwendungsgebiete des Verfahrens

  • Erfassung impliziter emotionaler Wirkung von Marken auf Basis neurowissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse
  • Untersuchung von Image, Marken- und Produktpositionierung
  • Messung emotionaler Wirkung von Werbung und Markenkommunikation
  • Input für Kampagnenkreationen
  • Kampagnencontrolling und Wirkung verschiedener Werbemittel

Vorteile des Verfahrens

  • Verortung der eigenen Marke und des Wettbewerbsumfelds in den basalen Emotions- und Motivsystemen (Grundlage menschliches Denkens und Handelns) 
  • Zugang zu den impliziten emotionalen Wahrnehmungen der Konsumenten
  • Neuartige Messung anhand einer Kombination aus Imagebegriffen und eines validierten Bildersets zum Mapping auf die Emotionssystemen
  • Der Ansatz adressiert viele Schwachpunkte klassischer skalenbasierter Marktforschung und bietet somit einen echten Mehrwert

Informationsmaterial